Squad Announced For Women’s Match Tonight

Head Coach Lewis Robinson has named 18 players to the squad to face FC Indiana tonight at Grandville High School.  Kick off is scheduled for 7:00pm and tickets can be purchased at grandrapidsfc.com.

After four consecutive road matches, Grand Rapids FC Women (3-1-1 Midwest) will finally return home for their next three conference games, starting this weekend with two tilts at Grandville High School. Grand Rapids got their second win of a 2-1-1 road trip against Friday night’s opponents FC Indiana (3-2 Midwest) on Friday, June 2nd at Newton Park in Lakeville, IN. The GRFC Women notched their second straight shutout with thanks to goalkeeper Reilley Ott (six saves) while FCI keeper Andrea Vera made 13 saves in the 3-0 loss. Defender Clare Carlson scored the game-winning goal on the goal line in the 30th minute after midfielder Annie Steinlage’s shot off a corner kick deflected off of Vera.

That was the second loss to start the season for FC Indiana and they’ve responded with three straight victories since that loss to Grand Rapids – all by a 2-1 score. The winning streak started with a road win over Toledo on June 4th on goals by forward Ashley Johnson and midfielder Jennifer Munoz. Johnson would net the game-winning goal in the 35th minute of their victory over Fort Wayne on Wednesday, June 7th. Midfielder Hikaru Nakamura made her first goal of 2017 a match-deciding one last Friday at home against Indy Premier. Nakamura’s 90th minute goal completed the two-goal comeback for FCI, after Yo Tachibana levelled the score in the 58th minute in the Indianapolis derby. It was the second straight win in goal for keeper Tarah Hobbs.

18 Players Named To Friday’s Squad:

0 – Madison Perrin (GK)

1 – Reilley Ott (GK)

3 – Clare Carlson

4 – Michaela Kovacs (C)

5 – Marti Corby

6 – Tara Wegner

9 – Maddie Pogarch

10 – Annie Steinlage

12 – Mary Carlson

13 – Bethany Balcer

14 – Monreau Devos

16 – Alex Ruffer

18 – Avery Lockwood

20 – Anna Stinson

21 – Sam Maher

23 – Lizzie Paul

24 – Sadie Misiewicz

29 – Riko Sagara

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on reddit
Share on email